1. Home keyboard_arrow_right
  2. Artistic Creation Award keyboard_arrow_right
  3. Andrea Chignoli– Artistic Creation Award 2019

Andrea Chignoli– Artistic Creation Award 2019

For the first time in its eight-year history, a faculty member from the Department of Audiovisual Direction has been honored with this award. Andrea Chignoli is a film editor, and her work has been crucial for the development of Chilean cinema over the last few decades.

Andrea Chignoli is a graduate of the University of Concepción in journalism and holds a Masters degree in Film Studies from Columbia University. Currently, she is a professor in the Audiovisual Direction program in the Faculty of Communications, and she is recognized with this award for her work as a film and television editor.

Professor Chignoli began her career as a film editor in the mid-1990s and has since been responsible for editing more than 70 audiovisual productions, including notable films like “Post Mortem,” “No,” and “Tony Manero” directed by Pablo Larraín, “Violeta se fue a los cielos” by Andrés Wood, “Joven y alocada” and “Princesita” by Marialy Rivas, and series like “Los 80” and “Ecos del Desierto,” to name just a few. Andrea has left an indelible mark on the aesthetics of Chilean cinema over the last two decades, as renowned director Silvio Caiozzi has pointed out, “You can feel her touch in all the major productions she has been involved in.”

Professor Chignoli’s work has been recognized three times with the Pedro Sienna Award from the Ministry of Arts, Cultures, and Heritage, for Best Film Editor in 2012, 2011, and 2009, and with the Career Achievement Award at the FEMCINE Women’s Film Festival in 2012. Additionally, she has served on juries for the Fenix Awards, the Platinos Awards, and the Valdivia International Film Festival, among others.

In 2018, Professor Chignoli was named a member of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Hollywood, an acknowledgment from the audiovisual industry and her peers for her extraordinary contributions as a film editor in Chilean and Latin American cinema.

The jury for this eighth edition of the UC Artistic Creation Award was chaired by the Prorector, Guillermo Marshall, and included singer and National Prize for Musical Arts recipient, Carmen Luisa Letelier; architect and President of the Chilean Architects Association, Humberto Eliash; filmmaker Silvio Caiozzi, Vice President for Research Pedro Bouchon, and Director of Arts and Culture, Miryam Singer. The jury also highlighted the work of Rodrigo Cádiz, a faculty member at the Institute of Music.

You are invited to learn more in the following video:

Realización audiovisual: Andrea Chignoli y Diego Herrera


More information about applying for this award can be found here.